TASC Board

Paula Clancy Dr Paula Clancy

Board Chair

Paula Clancy is founding Director of TASC  which was established 15 year ago as an independent think tank with the aim of changing the nature of the political debate in Ireland in order to raise the profile of arguments for a more just and equal society. The TASC work programme has two strands economic inequality and democratic accountability.   Prior to 2001 Paula held senior management and academic posts in higher education. Paula is author / co-author of a range of major research projects, most recently in the fields of political analysis and democratic accountability. She has authored a number of articles on the consequences of austerity in Ireland since the crisis.  Substantive publications include ’Mapping the Golden Circle’ (2010), ‘Power to the People?: Assessing Democracy in Ireland (2007) and ‘ Outsourcing Government’ (2006).

Proinsias De Rossa Proinsias De Rossa

Board Member

Proinsias De Rossa was elected Chair of TASC's Board in 2012. Formerly, MEP for Dublin (1989-1992, 1999-2012), Member of the Dáil (1982-2002) and Minister for Social Welfare (1994-1997) when he introduced the first ever National Anti-Poverty Strategy in Ireland. Proinsias is also a member of the IIEA and the European Movement.

Shane Molloy

Board Member, Chair Finance and Audit Committee

Chair of the Children's Research Centre Council, Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Dublin and former Chair, European Movement Ireland. Previously, Chair of Unilever Ireland and CEO, Lever Ireland.

Michael Leydon

Board Member

Industrial engineer and economic development consultant. Michael retired in 2012 as Property, Infrastructure and Energy Manager in Shannon Development. Formerly he was chairman of Shannon Estuary Ports and is currently a director of Shannon Airport Authority.

JIM_ODONNELL_250_375 Jim O'Donnell

Board Member

Currently Senior Administrator in the GUE/NGL Group in the European Parliament, previously Director of an EU research & information consultancy and, from 1978 to 1990, branch secretary with the FWUI/SIPTU.

Dr Shana Cohen

Board Secretary

Dr Shana Cohen is the Director of TASC. She studied at Princeton University and at the University of California, Berkeley, where she received a PhD in Sociology. Her PhD analyzed the political and social consequences of market reform policies in Morocco for young, educated men and women. Since then, she has continued to conduct research on how economic policies have influenced political and social identity, particularly in relation to collective action and social activism.

201512031251371_sm David Begg

Board Member

Dr. David Begg is chairman of the Pensions Authority and of the Mater Misericordiae group of hospitals. He is a former general secretary of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions(ICTU). He was CEO of Concern Worldwide from 1997 to 2001 and is currently chairman of Barnardos Children's Charity. He holds an MA in International Relations from DCU and a PhD in Sociology from NUI Maynooth.

Collins, Micheal Micheál Collins

Board Member

Micheál Collins is Assistant Professor of Social Policy at School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, at University College Dublin. He was previously a Senior Economist at the Nevin Economic Research Institute (NERI), as well as a member of the Commission on Taxation (2008-2009) and the Government's Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare (2011-2014).

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 11.40.16 AM Orla O'Connor

Board Member

Orla O'Connor is Director of National Women’s Council of Ireland (NWCI), the leading national women’s membership organisation in Ireland, with over 190-member groups and currently Co-Director of Together For Yes, the national Civil Society Campaign to remove the 8th Amendment. Orla holds an MA in European Social Policy, and after starting out in local community-based projects, has worked in senior management in non-governmental organisations for over 25 years.

Yvonne O’Callaghan

Board Member

Yvonne O’ Callaghan is an advocate with the Workers’ Rights Centre of the SIPTU Trade Union. She has previously worked at the international and national level in implementing  political campaigns, democratic development and empowerment with Social Democratic organisations. She also worked for the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) with a focus on equality, trade union organising, labour rights and international labour standards. She is the current chair of Fair Trade Ireland and Vice-Chair of Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU) Global Solidarity Committee.


Capture TASC pic Bríd Nolan

Board Member

Recently invited to join its Board, Bríd Nolan has been associated with TASC since its inception. She is a former EU official of some 30 years experience. She has been a member of the Board of Beaumont Hospital and its Research Ethics Committee, and as well as  a member and sometime chair of the Research Ethics Committee of the Royal College of Surgeons.


Michelle_OSullivan Michelle O'Sullivan

Board Member

Michelle O'Sullivan is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Limerick Kemmy Business School. Her expertise is primarily on precarious work with particular attention on wage setting and public policy in low wage jobs. She has been an invited speaker at numerous seminars and conferences including the James Connolly Memorial Seminar, the Griffith College Employment Law Forum and at TASC. She is also co-editor of the Irish Journal of Management a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Industrial Relations.

Saunders Joe Saunders

Board Member

Joe Saunders is Manager at the Irish Local Development Network. He holds 35 years of experience in the community sector in roles as diverse as frontline worker, animator, advocate, trainer, researcher, consultant and manager. 

donald-storrie Donald Storrie

Board Member

Donald Storrie is Chief Researcher/Coordinator in the Directorate and project leader for the Pilot Project, the Future of Manufacturing in Europe. He has coordination responsibility for research at Eurofound, including survey development and ad-hoc requests. He was previously Director of the Centre of European Labour Market Studies (Sweden) and has a BSc in Mathematics and a PhD in Economics.

Paula Clancy (Chair)

Jim O’Donnell

Sally Anne Kinahan

Dr Shana Cohen (Board Secretary)

Dr Micheál Collins

Orla O’Connor

Yvonne O’Callagh

Support us
Donate to TASC

There are many ways to support our work.

Find out more

View our Publications

View full listings of all our recent publications.

Find out more