TASC Board

TASC's Board members and the chairman of the Board are volunteers and donate freely of their time, skills and experience.

Members of TASC's Board:

MIke 2 Mike Jennings

Board Chair

Mike Jennings was General Secretary of the Irish Federation of University Teachers (IFUT) from 2007 to 2017. He is also a former member of the Executive Council of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions. He serves as European Treasurer / Vice President of ETUCE, the European Region of Education International. He is also a member of the advisory group on International Co-operation established by the European Higher Education Area as part of the Bologna Process.

Proinsias De Rossa Proinsias De Rossa

Board Member

Proinsias De Rossa was elected Chair of TASC's Board in 2012. Formerly, MEP for Dublin (1989-1992, 1999-2012), Member of the Dáil (1982-2002) and Minister for Social Welfare (1994-1997) when he introduced the first ever National Anti-Poverty Strategy in Ireland. Proinsias is also a member of the IIEA and the European Movement.

paul-sweeney Paul Sweeney

Board Member

Paul Sweeney is former Chief Economist of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions.  He is a member of the Economic Committee of the ETUC and chair of TASC’s Economists’ Network. He was a President of the Statistical and Social Enquiry Society of Ireland, a member of the National Competitiveness Council of Ireland, the National Statistics Board, the ESB, TUAC, (advisor to OECD) and several other bodies. He has written three books on the Irish economy and two on public enterprise, including The Celtic Tiger; Ireland’s Economic Miracle Explained and Selling Out: Privatisation in Ireland, chapters in other books and many articles on economics.

kevin-cardiff-2 Kevin Cardiff

Board Member

Kevin Cardiff is a non-executive director of KBC Bank Ireland.  In addition, he remains a member and chairperson of the Board of Audit of the European Stability Mechanism and is a member of the audit committee of the Irish Department of Defence. As a member of the European Court of Auditors, he was responsible for a range of audit products and also has had various internal management responsibilities. Previously, Cardiff was a senior official in the Department of Finance of Ireland during the worst periods of the global financial crisis that started in 2007, and was appointed by the Government as Secretary General of the Department in February 2010. 

201512031251371_sm David Begg

Board Member

Dr. David Begg is chairman of the Pensions Authority and of the Mater Misericordiae group of hospitals. He is a former general secretary of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions(ICTU). He was CEO of Concern Worldwide from 1997 to 2001 and is currently chairman of Barnardos Children's Charity. He holds an MA in International Relations from DCU and a PhD in Sociology from NUI Maynooth.

Collins, Micheal Micheál Collins

Board Member

Micheál Collins is Assistant Professor of Social Policy at School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, at University College Dublin. He was previously a Senior Economist at the Nevin Economic Research Institute (NERI), as well as a member of the Commission on Taxation (2008-2009) and the Government's Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare (2011-2014).

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 11.40.16 AM Orla O'Connor

Board Member

Orla O'Connor is Director of National Women’s Council of Ireland (NWCI), the leading national women’s membership organisation in Ireland, with over 190-member groups and currently Co-Director of Together For Yes, the national Civil Society Campaign to remove the 8th Amendment. Orla holds an MA in European Social Policy, and after starting out in local community-based projects, has worked in senior management in non-governmental organisations for over 25 years.

Capture TASC pic Bríd Nolan

Board Member

Recently invited to join its Board, Bríd Nolan has been associated with TASC since its inception. She is a former EU official of some 30 years experience. She has been a member of the Board of Beaumont Hospital and its Research Ethics Committee, and as well as  a member and sometime chair of the Research Ethics Committee of the Royal College of Surgeons.


Michelle_OSullivan Michelle O'Sullivan

Board Member

Michelle O'Sullivan is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Limerick Kemmy Business School. Her expertise is primarily on precarious work with particular attention on wage setting and public policy in low wage jobs. She has been an invited speaker at numerous seminars and conferences including the James Connolly Memorial Seminar, the Griffith College Employment Law Forum and at TASC. She is also co-editor of the Irish Journal of Management a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Industrial Relations.

Saunders Joe Saunders

Board Member

Joe Saunders is Manager at the Irish Local Development Network. He holds 35 years of experience in the community sector in roles as diverse as frontline worker, animator, advocate, trainer, researcher, consultant and manager. 

donald-storrie Donald Storrie

Board Member

Donald Storrie is Chief Researcher at the Dublin based EU Agency Eurofound, with coordination responsibility for research. Before joining Eurofound in 2005 he worked primarily in academia on a wide range of issues related to the labour market. His publications include research on employment contracts, migration, health and active labour market and European employment policy. He was previously Director of the Centre for European Labour Market Studies and Research Policy Officer at the Ministry of Employment (both in Sweden). He has a BSc in Mathematics, a PhD in Economics and is Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Gothenburg.

0-2 Yvonne O'Callaghan

Board Member

Yvonne is an industrial organiser at the SIPTU trade union and an advocate in SIPTU's Workers Rights Centre. She brings more than 15 years of experience in working on workers' rights and corporate social responsibility issues to the board. She will receive an MA in Comparative Social Change from Trinity College Dublin in 2019. 

Digital Revolutionaries